List of states and territories of the United States. In Rhode Island a person is guilty of statutory rape if he or she is over the age of eighteen 18 and the victim is between fourteen 14 years old and under the age of consent which is sixteen The type of offense depends on the age of the victim and perpetrator. Some media sources reported that the age of consent in California in the s was 14 or 16 but in fact it was and has been There was also a law which prohibited K teachers from having sex with students under age 19, and violators could face prison time or get on the sex offender registry.
An individual commits unlawful sexual conduct with a minor if they are 10 or more years older, or seven or more years older but less than 10 years older and knew or reasonably should have known the age of the minor and under circumstances not amounting to rape, object rape, forcible sodomy, forcible sexual abuse, aggravated sexual assault, unlawful sexual activity with a minor, or an attempt to commit any of those offenses:.
Statutory Rape: The Age of Consent
Under certain aggravating circumstances, the crime becomes a Class A felony. Thus, instead of including force as a criminal element, theses crimes make it illegal for anyone to engage in sexual intercourse with anyone below a certain age, other than his spouse. Let us know! Human sexuality portal Biology portal. A juvenile offender 13 years old and younger would be charged as a "serious juvenile offender" under C. The age of consent in Washington is